Driving & Parking on Campus
These regulations are established
The college makes every effort to provide protection to vehicles parked on campus but cannot assume the responsibility for any loss.
Operating a motor vehicle on the campus is a privilege and is conditional, in part, on complying with these rules and regulations.
The person who registers a vehicle with the College obtains a non-transferable parking permit and is responsible for all parking violations.
Pedestrians are given the right-of-way at all times.
The maximum speed limit on campus streets is 20 miles per hour.
The parking lot speed limit is 10 miles per hour.
The campus is defined as all lands owned by the College. The above regulations apply to all college faculty, staff, students and visitors.
In order to park a vehicle on campus, students, staff and faculty must obtain a vehicle
registration permit at the MC Police Department located in the Scharbauer Student
Center. Students are required to register motor vehicles at the time of registration
or when they begin driving on campus. There is no additional charge for the first
permit. Faculty and staff must register their vehicles on or before the day they begin
parking a vehicle on campus. Any person giving false information regarding vehicle
registration is subject to disciplinary action. Parking permits must be affixed to
the inside of the windshield on the lower right side. State law requires that vehicles
have Texas registration if the owner of the vehicle resides in Texas.
The College issues staff and student permits. Parking spaces for staff are designated
by signs at the end of every row and by yellow striping on the pavement. Only employees
and visitors are allowed to park in those areas. Special parking areas, such as handicapped
and fire zones, are indicated by signs. The Administration parking lot (between Scharbauer
Student Center and the Pevehouse Administration Building) is reserved for administration
personnel and visitors, except during registration. Students working on campus will
be assigned student permits and must park in student parking. Part time employees
are issued student permits. Persons with physical handicaps who have been issued the
state authorized handicapped parking permits or license plates must obtain a college
permit but may park in any handicapped parking area so Iong as the handicapped permit
is displayed as required by state law. Parking permits will be issued to allow parking
of motorcycles in designated two wheel areas. Permits must be permanently attached
to the fork on the front of the motorcycle. Replacement permits or additional permits
are $1.00 each and are available from the Midland College Police Department. Parking
violations must be paid at the Cashier's Officer. Unpaid fines will result in transcript
and registration holds.
Parking Fines and Penalties
Unauthorized parking in handicapped space (enforced through the City of Midland): $750.00
Traffic Violation (enforced through Midland County JP Court): varies
Permit not displayed: $10.00
Student parked in employee zone: $10.00
Parking where prohibited: $15.00
Not parked within the lines: $10.00
After a student/staff/faculty receives five or more unpaid tickets at any given time, the next violation could result in their vehicle being impounded. There will be a charge of $50.00 in addition to the impound fee.
Apply to MC Now
Thank you for choosing Midland College! If you are here to collect a few credits, take courses to transfer, or here to start a new career, we welcome you.