Quality Enhancement Plan

Important:

Visit our Coronavirus Updates & Reopening Plans page for updates and online transition resources. If you tested positive for COVID-19, please complete the COVID-19 Report Form.

close

Quality Enhancement Plan

"The Quality Enhancement Plan was developed with one goal in mind and that is to help students. We know our students have the ability to be successful in meeting their goals, and we also know that many of our students are vulnerable to a variety of barriers that make it difficult for them. Having someone who is there for them can make all the difference."      -Dr. Steve Thomas, President

 STRIVE Logo


Lee Grimes
STRIVE Director
Learning Resource Center, Room 218
(432) 685-6703
STRIVE@midland.edu

 

What Is Our QEP?

Through the broad engagement of faculty, staff, and students, Midland College has chosen STRIVE, a Student Success Coaching program, as the focus for its Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP). STRIVE is designed to develop academic self-efficacy in students and, thereby, improve student learning and success outcomes.

What are the expected outcomes?

MC has established one Student Learning Outcome (SLO) and six Student Success Outcomes (SSO):

SLO 1: Students who attend at least eight coaching sessions will, at the end of their formal coaching program, demonstrate an increase in academic self-efficacy.

Students who attend at least four coaching sessions each semester will demonstrate an/a:

SSO 1: Increase in successful completion of 15 Semester Credit Hours (SCH) in an academic year

SSO 2: Increase in successful completion of 30 SCHs in an academic year

SSO 3: Improve fall to spring retention

SSO 4: Improve fall to fall retention

SSO 5: Decrease semester credit hours to completion

SSO 6: Decrease time to completion

How will we accomplish this?

STRIVE will be implemented through 3 Key Activities:

  1. creating a success coaching model,
  2. creating and providing professional development to coaches, and
  3. providing coaching sessions to students.

What will coaches do?

STRIVE Coaches will establish an appreciative coaching relationship with assigned students to help them maximize their strengths and build their academic self-efficacy. They will commit to fully engage in professional development, assessment activities, and as active participants in the program. Coaches will represent the values and heart of our student-centered College and will be recognized as role models for their contribution.

Who will serve as coaches?

STRIVE coaches will be full-time and part-time faculty and staff who volunteer to take part in the program.

Who will be coached and when?

During years 1 and 2 of STRIVE, the coaches’ skills will be developed by working with recipients of the Legacy Scholarship. STRIVE will then expand more broadly to students with greater need. Legacy Scholars will be included throughout the STRIVE program, and in Years 4 and 5 other student groups will be phased in as institutional capacity allows.

What is the STRIVE support structure?

STRIVE is supported by a Director, Coordinator, Steering Committee. Resources to support STRIVE include contributions from the College’s Foundation, grants, and other local revenue.

Interested in serving as a STRIVE coach?

Complete the STRIVE Coaching Interest form and a STRIVE team member will reach out to you promptly.

STRIVE Coaching Interest Form

 

STRIVE Steering Committee


Dr. David P. Hopkins, Jr. – STRIVE CHAIR

Henry Professor of History, Department Chair,
Associate Professor of History
dhopkins@midland.edu

Dr. Lee H. Grimes – STRIVE DIRECTOR
Dean, Instructional Support Services
lgrimes@midland.edu

William Torres - STRIVE Coordinator
Director, Teaching and Learning Center
wtorres@midland.edu

TBD
Director, Legacy Program

Kathryn Zimmerhanzel
Director, Institutional Effectiveness
kzimmerhanzel@midland.edu

Crystal Velasquez
Director, Institutional Research
crystalv@midland.edu

Nereida Huffman
Dean, Outreach and Advising
nhuffman@midland.edu

John Gaspard
Assistant Professor, Student Success
jgaspard@midland.edu


Heather Sanders

Department Chair and Assistant Professor, Computer Science
hsanders@midland.edu

Ginger Schantz
Faculty, Government/Political Science
gschantz@midland.edu

Wendy Kane
Dean, Student Life
wkane@midland.edu

Jennifer Goolsby
Director, Instructional Technology
jgoolsby@midland.edu

Andres Madrid
Advisor, Student Recruiter/ Academic Fort Stockton
amadrid@midland.edu

Amelia Belizaire
Associate Professor, Biology
Chair, Equity Committee
abelizaire@midland.edu

Erin Casey Richardson
Associate Director, Institutional Advancement, Scholarships
erichardson@midland.edu



Apply to MC Now

Thank you for choosing Midland College! If you are here to collect a few credits, take courses to transfer, or here to start a new career, we welcome you.

How to Apply