MC Veterans Affairs Office • Hazlewood Exemption

hazlewoodactThe Hazlewood Act is a State of Texas benefit that provides qualified Veterans, spouses, and dependent children with an education benefit of up to 150 hours of tuition exemption, including most fee charges, at public institutions of higher education in Texas. This does NOT include living expenses, books, or supply fees.

*If you wish to save money on purchasing books, try other resources such as the internet, and discount bookstores.

SB 639 (82nd Texas Legislative, Regular) authorized new provisions which are effective with tuition and fee charges for Fall, 2011

Renewal Process for Previous Midland College Recipients only: 
 • Hazlewood Application for Previous Exempt Recipients

 

 

Veteran Qualifications

A Veteran must:

  • At the time of entry into the U.S. Armed Forces, designated Texas as Home of Record; or entered the service in Texas; or was a Texas resident;
  • Have received an honorable discharge or separation or a general discharge under honorable conditions;
  • Served at least 181 days of active duty service (excluding training), as indicated by “net active service” (the sum of 12(c) and 12(d) on the DD214);
  • Have no federal Veteran’s education benefits, or have no federal Veterans education benefits dedicated to the payment of tuition and fees only (such as Chapter 33 or 31; Pell and SEOG are not relevant) for term or semester enrolled that do not exceed the value of Hazlewood benefits;
  • Not be in default on a student loan made or guaranteed by the State of Texas; and
  • Enroll in classes for which the college receives tax support (i.e., a course that does not depend solely on student tuition and fees to cover its cost), unless the college’s governing board has ruled to let Veterans receive the benefit while taking non-funded courses.
  • Veterans who are granted their first Hazlewood Act exemption beginning fall, 2011 must reside in Texas during the semester or term for which the exemption is claimed. This requirement does not apply to the Veterans who either received the exemption prior to the 2011-2012 academic year, have reenlisted into active duty, or reside with a spouse who is on active duty.

 *Click HERE to find out how many Hazlewood Act hours youhave used.

Hazlewood Act application process

A Veteran must:

  • Apply and be accepted to a Texas public college or university of his/her choice. Go to  www.applytexas.org to apply;
  • Provide proof (DD214) from the Department of Defense regarding military service and the nature of discharge;
  • Provide proof of eligibility or ineligibility for Montgomery GI Bill benefits (Chapter 31, 33/Post-9/11) by requesting an education benefits letter from the VA office in Muskogee, OK at (888) 442-4551 or www.gibill.va.gov;
  • Fill out the HE-V application form HE-V Application Packet for Veterans;
  • And, turn in the HE-V application form, a copy of your letter of eligibility/ineligibility and a copy of your DD214 into the financial aid office of the institution you will be attending.
  • You will receive approval from the institution you are attending, either by email, letter, or a credit to your school account. (Be sure to contact the financial aid office regarding your status on prior student loans made or guaranteed by the State of Texas.)

Hazlewood Act for Spouse/Child

The Hazlewood Act is also extended to spouses and dependent children of eligible active duty, Texas National Guard, and Air National Guard Veterans who died in the line of duty or as a result of injury or illness directly related to military service, are missing in action, or who became totally disabled for purposes of employability as a result of a service-related injury or illness. Each child and spouse will receive a 150 credit hour exemption.

Note: A child of a qualified Veteran who is not 100% disabled or has a service connected death may qualify for benefits under the Hazlewood Legacy Program (See below)

Qualifications

A spouse must:

  • Be a spouse of a Veteran who, at the time of entry into the U.S. Armed Forces, was a Texas resident, designated Texas as Home of Record, or entered the service in Texas;
  • Be a spouse of a Veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces, Texas National Guard, or Texas Air National Guard who died as a result of service-related injuries or illness, is missing in action, or became totally disabled (100%) as a result of a service-related injury or illness or is entitled to receive compensation at the 100% rate due to individual employability (IU) due to a service connected injury or illness;
  • Have no federal Veterans education benefits, or have federal Veterans education benefits dedicated to the payment of tuition and fees only (such as Chapter 33 or 31; Pell and SEOG are not relevant) for term or semester enrolled that do not exceed the value of Hazlewood benefits and;
  • Be a resident of Texas for the term or semester enrolled. 

A child must:

  • Be a child of a Veteran who, at the time of entry into the U.S. Armed Forces, was a Texas resident, designated Texas as Home of Record, or entered the service in Texas;
  • Be a child of a Veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces, Texas National Guard, or Texas Air National Guard who died as a result of service-related injuries or illness, is missing in action, or became totally disabled (100%) as a result of a service-related injury or illness or is entitled to receive compensation at the 100% rate due to individual employability (IU) due to a service connected injury or illness;
  • Must be 25 years old or younger on the first day of the semester or term for which the exemption is claimed (unless granted an extension due to a qualifying illness or debilitating condition);
  • Have no federal Veterans education benefits, or have federal Veterans education benefits dedicated to the payment of tuition and fees only (such as Chapter 33 or 31; Pell and SEOG are not relevant) for term or semester enrolled that do not exceed the value of Hazlewood benefits; and
  • Are residents of Texas as of the term or semester in which they enroll. 

Application process for Spouse/Child

A spouse (Veteran died during service, MIA, or 100% disabled) must:

  • Apply and be accepted to a Texas public college or university. Go to www.applytexas.org to apply;
  • Provide proof (DD214) from the Department of Defense or from the VA regarding Veteran’s death or disability rating;
  • Provide proof of eligibility or ineligibility for GI Bill benefits (Chapter 31, 33/Post-9 11) by requesting an education benefits letter from the VA office in Muskogee, OK at (888) 442-4551 or www.gibill.va.gov;
  • Fill out the HE-D application form HE-D Application Packet for Eligible Children and Spouses; and
  • Turn in the HE-D application, a copy of the Veteran’s DD214, and the proof from the Dept. of Defense or VA regarding the death, MIA status, or 100% disability related to service, to the financial aid office of the institution you are attending.

A child (Veteran died during, MIA, or 100% disabled) must:

  • Apply and be accepted to a Texas public college or university. Go to www.applytexas.org  to apply;
  • Obtain a copy of the Veteran’s DD214 and proof from the Dept. of Defense or VA regarding Veteran’s death, MIA status, or 100% disability related to service. If additional documents are needed, you may wish to contact the National Personnel Records Center at (314) 801-0800.
  • Fill out the HE-D application form HE-D Application Packet for Eligible Children and Spouses; and
  • Turn in the HE-D application, a copy of the Veteran’s DD214, and the proof from the Dept. of Defense or VA regarding the death, MIA status, or 100% disability related to service, to the financial aid office of the institution you are attending.

Legacy Act (Child)

Eligible Veterans may assign unused hours of exemption eligibility to a child under certain conditions.

Qualifications

A child must:

  • Be a Texas resident;
  • Be the biological child, stepchild, adopted child, or claimed as a dependent in the current or previous tax year;
  • Be 25 years old or younger on the first day of the semester or term for which the exemption is claimed (unless granted an extension due to a qualifying illness or debilitating condition); and
  • Make satisfactory academic progress in a degree, certificate, or continuing education program as determined by the institution.

*If a child to whom hours have been delegated fails to use all of the assigned hours, a Veteran may re-assign the unused hours that are available to another child. Only one child can use the Hazlewood Act at a time.

Legacy Act Application Process

A child of a Veteran must:


When applying you must also send a copy showing previous hours used, even if its "0"
 • Hazlewood Student Hours online

Renewal Process for Midland College

Each qualified veteran, child or spouse wishing to receive an exemption through the Hazlewood Act (Texas Education Code 54.203) must complete and sign the following renewal application, once they have met all the requirements to qualify for benefits, and provide it to the institution. Turn in this document to the Financial Aid Office along with your course schedule and bill. For questions please contact us at (432) 685-5511.
 • Hazlewood Application for Previous Exempt Recipients

 For more information regarding the Hazlewood Exemptions visit College for All Texans (under "Military"),
the Texas Veterans Commission's "Hazlewood" web page, or contact Midland College Financial Aid office at (432) 685-5511.


The MC Veterans Affairs office is here to assist students seeking VA education benefits. We strive to ensure that each student fulfills his/her responsibilities under the VA program.

Contact Information:
Kay Schipper, VA Coordinator

Financial Aid Office, Scharbauer Student Center
Phone: (432) 685-4511
kschipper@midland.edu