Biology  Faculty

Amelia Belizaire

FSB  Room 156
432-685-6755
abelizaire@midland.edu
 

Dan Elias

FSB Room 255
432-685-6761
delias@midland.edu

Tomas Hernandez

FSB Room 152
432-685-6751
thernandez@midland.edu

Research Interest:
Flavonoid Compund Analysis within the Genus Quercus (Oaks)

Our project consists of collecting different species of oaks and extracting flavonoid compounds from leaves for purification and identification.  Currently, we are assessing the best protocol for extraction and separation using TLC plates.  The next phase will involve separation using a flash chromatography system and spectrophotometric identificiation.  The other area of interest is isolating and characterizing a phosphorescent compound for potential usefulness in the mecical and enegry industries.

Claudia Hinds

FSB Room 252
432-685-6758
chinds@midland.edu

Greg Larson

FSB Room 103
432-685-6732
glarson@midland.edu

Research Interest:

Dr. Paul Mangum

FSB Room 102
432-685-6731
pmangum@midland.edu
 
Research Interest:

Explorations of the PTC taste gene

This research project is an exploration of the Human PTC taste recepttor gene.  Methods of exploartion include restriction mapping, sequencing, and population genetic analyses.  For the 2012 - 2013 fall and spring semesters the focus of research will be testing of methods to reduce the time required to acquire a DNA fingerprint for the PTC gene.  The goal is to develop a protocol that will allow us to analyze 15 - 20 individuals in 2 hours.

Ethel Matthews

FSB Room 104
432-685-6733
ematthews@midland.edu

Research Interest:
Identification of Readily Available Bacteria which Consume Heavy Hydrocarbons

Parafin (wax) deposits are a significat problem with oil well production, as this material can plug the well and cease flow from the reservoir.  Historically, chemical treatments have been used to remedy this problem, but these methods suffer from increasing corrosion of the pipe and increased environmental scrutiny.  Any alternative that is being initiated in the oil fields is the use of hydrocarbon consuming bacteria to destroy the parafin plug in wells.  Our research group will make controlled measurements of hydricarbon consumption of several readily available bacterial species to determine their value in this application.
 

Marlana Mertens

FSB Room 253
432-685-6759
mmertens@midland.edu

Research Interest:
Information Exhange Between Species in Bacterial Biofilms

When different species of bacteria grow in the same place, sometimes they communicate with one another via small chemical molecules.  This is usually done by one bacterial species to exert dominance over the other species.  However, there is the possibility that genetic in formation can be traded between the bacteria which impart.

Detection of Cryptosporidium species in soil using nested PCR

Cryptosporidium is a protozoan which infects the digestive system of calves and causes death.  Our group is styudying aspects of laboratory isolation of the protozoan, and causes for the spread of this species.

Miranda Poage

FSB Room 155
432-685-6754

mpoage@midland.edu

Research Interest:

Isolation of Native Bacteria whihc Consume Heavy Hydrocarbons

In conjunction with Ms. Matthew's, Bacteria which live in oil deposits are likely to be very effective in the consumption of heavy hydrocarbons (parafin).  We will go to oil field sites and take samples of oil deposits.  We will attempt to isolate native bacteria from these oil deposits which thrive on a hydrocarbon invironment.  Our research group will make controlled measurements of hydrocarbon consumption of several readily available bactgerial specieis to determine their value in this application. 

Sandy Robinson

FSB Room 106
432-685-6735
srobinson@midland.edu

Joey Schenkman

FSB Room 105
432-685-6734
jschenkman@midland.edu

Research Interest:

 


biology footer 

For more information about the Biology Department, contact:

 Math & Science Division Midland College
 Rm 124 • Abell Hanger Science Faculty Building
 (432) 685-6413